Seasame Garlic Eggplant (aka my new favorite dinner)

Very rarely do I make something for dinner and then immediately think “Wow that was good! I think I will make that again tomorrow!” But that exact thing happened yesterday. I love eggplant but I don’t often cook it for myself, but I thought I would take on the challenge of this recipe, the original found here: http://alldayidreamaboutfood.com/2012/05/sesame-garlic-eggplant-low-carb-and-gluten-free.html. I make a few adjustments to the original, I added half a chopped yellow pepper that I had on hand and substituted the xanthan gum for corn starch.  Also between salting the eggplant and the soy souse in the recipe there is the potential for a very salty dish, so I would suggest using low sodium soy sause (which I did) and a squeeze of lime juice at the end to cut through some of that salt.

I served this with some brown rice, a fried egg and some chopped green onions on top, Making this a very simple and easy Tuesday night dinner.

Sesame Garlic Eggplant:

  • 2 small eggplants
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 tbsp veg oil
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • ½ cup water
  • 2 tbsp low sodium soy souse
  • ½ tsp ground ginger or fresh grated
  • ½ tsp corn starch
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds

Chop eggplant into one inch cubes, place in a colander and spring with salt. Let drain for an hour.

Heat oil over medium heat, add eggplant and peppers and cook until soft, about 10 minutes. Add garlic and cook for another minute or so.

While eggplant is cooking, mix water, soy sauce and ginger together.  After garlic had been added, add the sauce mix and stir to combine. Sprinkle with corn starch and let thicken.

Remove from the heat, drizzle with sesame oil and top with sesame seeds.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Glad you liked it! Great modifications…you’re right, I always use low salt soy sauce, I should have thought to mention that.

    Reply

Leave a comment